Apukka reindeer journey, 2–3 km
Sled distance: 2–3 km
A daytime ride of 2 to 3 km, a night ride by the campfire and a family day with huskies and mini snowmobiles.
Pick a day, or your first and last day in Rovaniemi. We check the booking calendar of every sleigh ride listed here and show the ones that still take bookings, from the short farm ride to the evening safari.
Sled distance: 2–3 km
Duration: 4.5 h
No sleigh ride
Apukka Resort lies outside Rovaniemi and keeps its own reindeer a few minutes’ walk from the resort. It sells a daytime reindeer journey of 2 to 3 km, a night ride with a hot drink and reindeer sausage by the fire, and a family snow day where you meet the reindeer without riding. All three include winter clothing and a transfer from the centre or Santa Claus Village if you need one.
Sorted by review count, with the most-reviewed ride first. The family day has no sleigh ride and is listed below the table.
| Photo | Tour | Sled distance | Time on the sled | Day / evening | Transfer | Duration | Rating ↕ | Price ↕ | Book |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
|
Apukka reindeer journey, 2–3 km Apukka Resort | 2–3 km | Not stated | Day | Optional, from the centre or Santa Claus Village | 3.5 hours | ★ 4.5 (1,022) | €189 per person | Book now |
|
Apukka night sleigh ride Apukka Resort | Not stated | Not stated | Evening | Optional, from the centre or Santa Claus Village | 4.5 hours | ★ 4.3 (102) | €195 per person | Book now |
Ride prices load live from GetYourGuide and are per person. What a family or group pays in total, the booking page shows before checkout. Distances and times are the operators’ own figures from each listing, checked 28 September 2026; times marked “(reviews)” come from traveller reviews. “Not stated” means the listing gives no figure, and we do not estimate one.
Each tour as the operator lists it. Open a card for the full listing, including the meeting point and what to bring.
2–3 km through the forest at a walking pace, a hot drink by the fire, winter clothing and transfer included.
A daytime ride of 2 to 3 kilometres at Apukka Resort's own reindeer herd.
Copied from the operator’s listing on the booking platform, the same page our sled distances come from.
A night ride with the guide walking beside the sleigh, then a hot drink and reindeer sausage at the campfire. Northern lights possible, not guaranteed.
Apukka Resort's night-time sleigh ride. The distance is not stated in the data we checked, so look at the listing before you book.
Copied from the operator’s listing on the booking platform, the same page our sled distances come from.
A 500 m husky ride, time with the reindeer, mini snowmobiles for children and a buffet lunch. No reindeer sleigh ride.
A family day at Apukka Resort: a 500-metre husky ride, time with the huskies and the reindeer, then snowshoes, cross-country skis, a toboggan hill and a snow carousel, with mini snowmobiles for children aged five to ten. A buffet lunch at the resort's restaurant and winter clothing are included, and transfers run from the centre or Santa Claus Village if you need them.
There is no reindeer sleigh ride on this tour: you meet the reindeer and hear about them. Book it for a varied day with children, and add a reindeer safari if the sleigh ride is the point.
Copied from the operator’s listing on the booking platform, the same page our sled distances come from.
On both rides the reindeer walk at a leisurely pace, and at night the guide steers the sleigh by walking alongside. If you are looking for speed, the reindeer are the wrong choice. The listings state that Apukka’s reindeer tours are certified under the Green Activities programme; our animal welfare page lists the questions worth asking any farm. The night ride is not suitable for children under three, and the transfer takes about 35 minutes each way.
The third Apukka tour is built for families rather than for the reindeer ride. Over five and a half hours, children and adults get a 500 m husky ride, time with the reindeer, snowshoes, cross-country skis and a toboggan hill. Children aged five to ten can drive mini snowmobiles, and a buffet lunch is included. There is no reindeer sleigh ride, so if the ride matters, book one of the two above as well. It sits next to the other combination tours on our reindeer + husky combos page.
Apukka’s snowmobile safaris are compared on rovaniemisnowmobiles.com and its husky safari on rovaniemi-husky.com.
The daytime journey covers 2 to 3 kilometres, as part of a tour listed at three and a half hours. The night ride listing states neither the distance nor the time on the sled.
Yes, if you need it. All three Apukka tours include a transfer from Rovaniemi centre or Santa Claus Village to the resort and back.
Yes. The listings include a thermal overall, thermal boots, woollen socks and mittens.
Possibly, if the sky is clear and dark. The listing does not guarantee a sighting, so book the night ride for the ride and the campfire.
No. You meet the reindeer and hear about them, and the ride on that day is a 500 metre husky ride. Book the daytime journey or the night ride if you want to ride behind a reindeer.
2 to 3 km in daylight, or the night ride with a campfire.
See the comparison